Petersen, Cook named to women lacrosse's Tewaaraton Award watch list

Petersen (pictured) and Cook have established themselves as the most prolific one-two punch in SBU women's lacrosse history

Feb. 22, 2013

Washington – Attacker Claire Petersen and midfielder Demmianne Cook, two of the most prolific scorers in Stony Brook women’s lacrosse history, have been named to the 2013 Tewaaraton watch list, The Tewaaraton Foundation announced this morning. The list includes the elite women’s lacrosse players in the nation and highlights the early contenders for the 2013 award.

"This is a great honor for our players to be considered for such a prestigious award," Stony Brook women's lacrosse head coach Joe Spallina said. "It is a testament to their commitment to be the best and is a great honor for Stony Brook." 

After dominating at the Division II level at Adelphi, both Petersen and Cook followed Spallina to Stony Brook and have made seamless transitions to Division I, shattering school records in the process.

Petersen, a 2012 IWLCA All-American and 2013 preseason All-American, leads Stony Brook this season in points and assists with 14 and seven, respectively, after breaking single-season program marks in both categories last year. On Feb. 16 against Bucknell, she tied her own school record for points in a contest by tallying 10 on four goals and a game-high six assists.  A senior captain and the 2012 America East Player of the Year, Petersen sits third all-time in Seawolves Country in career assists with 66 and seventh in points with 115 despite only playing one full season at SBU.

Many of Petersen’s assists have been dished to Cook, who paces the Seawolves with nine goals this season. She notched a game-high of seven goals in the season opener against Bucknell and tallied two against No. 3/3 Florida to help Stony Brook mount a comeback against the 2012 national semifinalists. Last season, the Nesconset, N.Y., native registered 68 goals, a new single-season school record. Although she is beginning just her second year at Stony Brook, Cook, a senior captain, is 10th all-time in program history in career goals (77) and draw controls (66).

The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to the top male and female lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed each year by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men’s and women’s nominees in late April, and five finalists will be announced in mid-May.

The winner will be revealed at the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington D.C.

No. 18/19 Stony Brook (1-1) returns to the field to square off with Central Connecticut Wednesday, Feb. 27 at 4 p.m. in its third-straight road contest to open the 2013 season.