Burne named to America East All-Academic squad

Burne earned her second America East Indoor All-Academic nod after a stellar season on the track and in the classroom

March 27, 2014

Cambridge, Mass. -Senior Olivia Burne of the Stony Brook track and field team has been placed on the America East Indoor Track and Field All-Academic team, the conference office announced Thursday morning.

Burne earned an outstanding 3.93 in journalism and has been named to the Dean's List six times. She has been selected to the indoor and outdoor All-Academic teams twice each and the cross country All-Academic team in all three seasons in which she was eligible. Burne has been tabbed America East Scholar-Athlete in women's cross country in back-to-back years.

The Palmerston, New Zealand product is coming off a fantastic season on the track that ended with a trip to the NCAA Championships to compete in the mile. She was named USTFCCCA second-team All-America in the mile after finishing seventh in her heat in the national semifinals. Burne hit three ECAC qualifiers in the event in 2013-14, including a personal-record time of 4:36.22 at the Boston University Last Chance Meet March 2.

She won the America East crown and twice qualified for the ECACs in the 1,000. Her title-clinching run in 2:48.33 nearly topped the record of 2:48.02 set by former All-American and Olympian Lucy Van Dalen and gave her a third conference championship in the last three meets. Burne won the women's 1,500 at the 2013 America East Outdoor Championships and became Stony Brook's sixth individual cross country champion this past fall.

Burne and the Seawolves will begin their outdoor season at home with a quad meet Saturday at 12:30 p.m.

Each nominee must be at least in sophomore standing academically, have compiled a minimum 3.3 GPA and have competed in at least 50 percent of the team's 2013-14 contests or be a significant reserve.

Student-athletes worthy of consideration are nominated by America East member sports information directors and voted on by a committee of SIDs, academic advisors and faculty representatives from all nine member institutions.