Stony Brook names 2011-12 endowed scholarship recipients

Feb. 27, 2012

Fourteen Stony Brook University student-athletes have been named recipients of 2011-12 endowed scholarships, which have been previously formed by generous donors who help support Stony Brook Athletics. The recipients and their donors were honored during halftime of the men's basketball team's game vs. Maine on Feb. 26.

The 14 student-athletes were selected by a committee that annually reviews the designated purposes of each endowment and ensures that the donor intent is being upheld and properly recognized.

For more information on endowments, please contact the Office of External Services at 631-632-6312.

2011-12 Stony Brook Athletics Endowed Scholarship Recipients

Elizabeth Desch Athletic Scholarship

Greta Strenger, Volleyball

Wachter Family Athletic Scholarship

Samantha Landers, Women's Basketball

Charles Gordon Heuser Memorial Scholarships

Taylor Crosby & Allison Zelnick, Women's Swimming & Diving 

William J. Burke Scholarship

Leonard Hayes, Men's Basketball 

Deputy Chief Raymond M. Downey Scholarship

Dimitry Russ, Football 

Jonathan S. Ryan Scholarship 

Robbie Campbell, Men's Lacrosse 

Joel Strum Kenny Athletic Scholarships

Miguel Maysonet, Football
Bernadette Tenuto, Softball 

Jack Foley Scholarship

Kyle Moeller, Men's Lacrosse

Howard R. Zern Track & Field Scholarship

Hayley Green, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Eppenstein Family Scholarship

Danny Carter, Men's Basketball

Ron LaValle Memorial Scholarship
Jared LeVerne, Men's Lacrosse

Joel Mitofsky Memorial Scholarship
Jackie Gentile, Women's Lacrosse