Stony Brook announces 2012-13 endowed scholarship recipients

Jan. 29, 2013

Photo Gallery

Stony Brook, N.Y. - Stony Brook Athletics announced and recognized its 2012-13 Endowed Scholarship donors and recipients during halftime of the men's basketball team's game vs. Maine at Pritchard Gymnasium last Saturday.

Seventeen Stony Brook student-athletes were named scholarship recipients, and many of them were able to attend the event, meet their donors and engage with them during the game.

Endowments provide a permanent source of income whose invested interest is used to fund and support the mission of Stony Brook University Department of Athletics. Donors who provide a gift to fund an endowment become permanently linked with the Stony Brook Intercollegiate Athletic program and help support multiple generations of student-athletes.

Endowments are permanently invested by the Stony Brook Foundation, and a portion of the income generated by that investment is used for the purpose designated by the donor(s), such as athletic scholarships, supplemental salary support for coaches & administrators, specific programs, discretionary use, or other purposes. Another portion of the income is reinvested each year, enabling the endowment principal to grow, maintain its "spending power" against inflation, and provide a permanent stream of income over time. The principal is never spent and remains intact.

For those endowments that have a designated purpose, a committee annually reviews and ensures that the donor intent is being upheld and properly recognized. If you are interested in more information regarding endowments, please contact the Office of External Services at 631-632-6312.

2012-13 Stony Brook Athletics Endowed Scholarship Recipients

Joel Mitofsky Memorial Scholarship
Taryn Schoenbeck, Women's Soccer

Elizabeth Desch Athletic Scholarship
Olivia Burne, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Wachter Family Athletic Scholarship
Dani Klupenger, Women's Basketball

Charles Gordon Heuser Memorial Scholarship
Polina Movchan, Women's Tennis

William J. Burke Scholarship
Leonard Hayes, Men's Basketball

Deputy Chief Raymond M. Downey Scholarship
Dimitry Russ, Football

Jonathan S. Ryan Scholarship
Claire Petersen, Women's Lacrosse

Joel Strum Kenny Athletic Scholarships
Allison Cukrov, Softball & Michael Bamiro, Football

Jack Foley Scholarship
Melissa Rigo, Volleyball

Howard R. Zern Track & Field Scholarship
Kristal Conklin, Women's Cross Country/Track & Field

Eppenstein Family Scholarship
Ron Bracey, Men's Basketball

Ron LaValle Memorial Scholarship
Savaughn Greene, Men's Lacrosse

Alan Koch Family Basketball Scholarships
Carson Puriefoy, Men's Basketball & Brittany Snow, Women's Basketball

Das Family Men's Soccer Scholarship
Alejandro Fritz, Men's Soccer

Middleton Family Student-Athlete Alumni Award
Brandon McNitt, Baseball